Ten UNILAG Students Received 2014 Etisalat Merit Scholarship Awards. See Names

Filed in UNIVERSITY OF LAGOS by on December 26, 2014 0 Comments

Ten (10) outstanding students of the University of Lagos have received the 2014 Etisalat Merit Scholarship Awards of One Hundred Thousand Naira (N100, 000.00) each. They are:

1 MBANEFO, Chiamaka Esther Accounting 200 5.00
2 AMUDA, Tope Victor Elect./Elect. Engineering 200 4.96
3 AJIBOWU, Abiola Sheriff Elect./Elect. Engineering 200 4.93
4 EIGBE, Eghonghon-Aye Elect./Elect. Engineering 300 4.90
5 EJIOFOR, Chike Bryan Accounting 300 4.88
6 AKEJU, Fatai Adekunle Computer Science 200 4.83
7 IBRAHIM, Sulaimon O. Accounting 200 4.82
8 BODUNWA, Temiloluwa S. Computer Science 300 4.76
9 AJEKIGBE, Tolulope O. Elect./Elect. Engineering 300 4.70
10 OBAWOLE, Daniel O. Computer Science 200 3.89

The ten awardees were presented with their certificates of awards at the Etisalat Merit Award Ceremony which was held on Wednesday, December 17, 2014 at the Oriental Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.

During the ceremony, five (5) tertiary institutions selected for the 2014 Etisalat Merit Award exercise also received One Hundred Thousand Naira (N100, 000.00) each. The five institutions are: University of Lagos, Lagos; Obafemi Awolowo University, Osun State; Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Osun State; Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and University of Benin, Edo State.

As part of the programme of events at the awards ceremony, selected scholars of the five institutions made five (5) minutes presentations on innovations of their choice. Tagged “The Etisalat Innovation Moment”, presentations were judged based on Adaptability, Value, Social Impact, Environmental Impact and Rate of Feasibility. The presentation by team UNILAG: “PROJECT SMC (Social Media Centre) got the third position while the first and second positions went to University of Benin and Obafemi Awolowo University, respectively.

The awardees from the University attended the award ceremony along with the Hall Mistress of Moremi Hall, Dr. Virgy Onyene (who represented the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon A. Bello, FAEng on behalf of the Dean, Students’ Affairs Division, Professor G.O. Babawale) and a 3-man team of Office of Advancement: Mrs. M.I. Enuoyibo, Mr. T.O. Akeju and Mr. B.E. Oreyomi.

The UNILAG delegation to the event presented the dummy-cheque of the total amount of the cash awards won by the University and ten students (One million, one hundred thousand naira: N1, 100,000.00), to the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon A. Bello, FAEng on Tuesday, December 23, 2014. The presentation was done by the Dean, Students’ Affairs Division, Professor G.O. Babawale; Hall Mistress of Moremi Hall, Dr. Virgy Onyene and Acting Head, Office of Advancement, Mrs. M.I. Enuoyibo.

The Etisalat Merit Award is a Scholarship Scheme designed to fulfil the company’s goal of empowering the society through knowledge acquisition and promoting education within Nigeria. The Scheme focuses on awarding grants to second and third year students attending Nigerian universities.

Students of the University of Lagos have been selected for the award for three (3) years: 2009, 2010 and 2014. Each year, a total of ten (10) students drawn from the Computer Sciences, Electrical/Electronics Engineering and Management Science fields of study are selected for the awards.

Stay updated with all Nigeria University news, Polytechnic news, Post-Utme, Jamb Results and more; Join/Like Us now on Facebook and Twitter

Don’t forget to share this news with your friends using the Share buttons below….




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *