Filed in Uncategorized by on July 15, 2012 0 Comments

The Governor of Edo State , Comrade Adams Oshiomhole has been re-elected to pilot the affairs of the state in the next four years.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Sunday, declared Mr Adams Oshiomhole of Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) as the winner of the Edo governorship election, held on Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Prof Osayuki Oshodi , who officially announced the result of the election at INEC headquarter in Benin, said Oshiomhole scored 477,478 votes to defeat five other candidates in the election.

Osho celebrations

Gov Adams Oshiomhole with his supporters after he was declared winner of the Edo governorship elections, Sunday, in Benin City.

Oshodi said Maj.-Gen.Charles Airhiavbere of the Peoples Democratic Party scored 144, 235 votes, while Chief Solomon Edebiri of All Nigeria Peoples Party scored 3,642 votes to come third.

He said Mr Roland Izeobuwe of Congress for Progressive Change came fourth with 2,793 votes and Mr Frank Ukonga of Social Democratic Movement Party followed with 807 votes.

Oshodi, who is the Vice-Chancellor of University of Benin, further announced that Mr Andrew Igwemoh of Labour Party scored 604 votes,while Mr Paul Orunmwese of National Conscience Party scored 540 votes in the contest.

He said that Oshiomhole, who is the incumbent, won in the 18 local government areas of the state and satisfied the requirements of the law to be declared winner of the contest.

“I, Prof Oshiodi asthe returning officer, hereby certify that I was the returning officer of the July 14 governorship election and hereby declare that Oshiomhole having satisfied the requirement of the law and having scored the highest number of votes cast is hereby declared winner,’’ Oshodi declared. ( NAN)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *