Filed in Uncategorized by on May 24, 2012 0 Comments

All candidates who are gearing UP for the Post Utme screening exam, should study this current affairs for better results.

The coat of arm of Nigeria has a black shield with two white stripes that come together, like the letter”Y”. This represent the two main rivers flowing through Nigeria: River Niger and River Benue .

The black sheld represent Nigeria’s good earth while the two horses on each sides represent dignity.

The eagle represent Strenght, while the green and white bands on the top of the shied represent the rich agricultural land of the country.

The yellow flower at the base of are Costus spectabilis, Nigeria’s national flower.

The flag of Nigeria was designed in 1959 and first officially hosted on October 1, 1960.

The green bands represent the forests and abundant natural wealth of Nigeria while the whieband stands for peace.

The designer of the flag was a student from Ibadan, Micheal Taiwo Akinkunmi.


Nigeria is a country which has the highest population in Africa continent.According to 21 – 25 March, 2006 population census, Nigeria’s population was estimated to about 140,000,000 people.

Nigeria which is officially known as the Federal Republic of Nigeria, boarders Benin Republic on the west, Cameroon on the east, Gulf of Guinea on the south and Niger to the north.

As at now, Nigeria is made up of 36 states and the Federal CapitalTerritory ( FCT ),109 senatorial districts, 360 federal constituencies, 990 state constituencies, 774 local governments and 8810 wards.

The former colonial masters in Nigeria are Sir Frederick Lord Lugard who ruled from 1900 to 1919.

Sir Hugh Clifford who ruled from 1919 to 1925.

Sir Creamer Thompson who ruled from 1925 to 1931.

Sir Donald Cameroon who ruled from 1931 to 1935.

Sir Bernard Bourdilion who ruled from 1935 to 1943.

Sir Anthony Richard who ruled from 1943 to 1948.

Sir John McPherson who ruled from 1948 to 1958.

Sir James Robertson who ruled from 1958 to 1960.

The first indigenous Governor General and also the first Ceremonial President of Nigeria is Dr Nnamdi Azikwe.

The first prime minister in Nigeria is Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa Balewa.

The first minitary head of state in Nigeria is General Aguiyi Ironsi.

The first executive President of Nigeria is Alhaji Shehu Shagari.

The first military president in Nigeria is General Ibrahim Babangida.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *